Texas State Genealogical Society Announces 2013 Election Results

For Immediate Release
November 15, 2013

November 15, 2013 – Tyler, Texas. The Texas State Genealogical Society (TSGS) announces the results of its recent election of Board of Directors and District Representatives. The election was held at the TSGS Annual Meeting, Saturday, November 2, 2013 in Round Rock, Texas. Office terms for those elected will begin January 1, 2014.

Concerning these recent election results, Sue Kaufman, outgoing President of TSGS and newly-elected TSGS Director of Education, states, “The 2014 Board of Directors election results, including the election of John Wylie as TSGS President, a strong Executive Committee and a full slate of District Representatives, will further implement the current strategic vision, while developing some really cool things during their tenure at the helm.”

Newly-elected TSGS President John Wylie adds, “The new TSGS leadership team has been selected and is preparing for the next two years. With our reorganization comes the task of keeping what’s working well and improving where needed. With every Board position now filled, we’re committed to improving support for our Partner Societies and Members. We’re up to the task. Stay tuned.”

TSGS 2014-2015 Board of Directors

President: John Wylie, President Elect, Texas State Genealogical Society
Director for Education: Sue Kaufman, President, Texas State Genealogical Society
Director for Membership: Susan Ball, President, San Angelo Genealogical & Historical Society
Secretary: Linda Reynolds, Archivist, Texas State Genealogical Society
Treasurer: Scott Fitzgerald, Treasurer, Texas State Genealogical Society
Director for Development: Randy Whited, Director, Federation of Genealogical Societies
Director for Communications: Caroline Pointer, Genealogy Professional

District Representatives

District 1 Mary Torres, Vice President, Tip O' Texas Genealogical Society
District 2 Patricia Sugarek, Vice President, Coastal Bend Genealogical Society
District 3 Judy Lynn Turner, Publications Committee, Victoria Genealogical Society
District 4 Sue Yerby, Board of Directors, Clayton Library Friends
District 5 Linda Hale, Chief Genealogist, Hardin County Genealogical Society
District 6 Caroline Pointer, Genealogy Professional
District 7 Lisa Reed, Publicity Chair, Van Zandt County Genealogical Society
District 8 Betsy Mills, President, Lamar County Genealogical Society
District 9 Paula Ballard, Programs, North Texas Genealogical Association
District 10 Janice Quick, Collin County Historical Commission
District 11 Debbie Blanton McCoy, 1st Vice President, Johnson County Genealogical Society
District 12 William D. (Bill) Buckner, Genealogy Center Manager, West Waco Library & Genealogy Center
District 13 Cindy Foreman, Vice President, Wimberley Valley Genealogical Society
District 14 Terry Bull, President, West Texas Genealogical Society
District 15 Jana Jenkins, Vice President, San Angelo Genealogical & Historical Society
District 16 Brandie Via, President, Amarillo Genealogical Society
District 17 Kathy Kitten, Treasurer, South Plains Genealogical Society
District 18 Marion Stewart, President, Midland Genealogical Society
District 19 Barbara McCarthy, Vice President, El Paso Genealogical Society
District 20 Barbara Froebel, past President, San Antonio Genealogical & Historical Society

About the Texas State Genealogical Society (TSGS)

The Texas State Genealogical Society (TSGS) was founded in 1960, in Fort Worth, Texas, and is incorporated under the laws of the State of Texas as an educational and literary corporation. The purpose of TSGS is to promote, assist, develop, and conserve the genealogical and historical resources of Texas and to cooperate with local, regional, and statewide groups in promoting an awareness of the need to preserve family heritage. Membership to the TSGS is open to individuals, societies, libraries, museums and family surname associations. To learn more visit: http://www.txsgs.org/.